Gem Calc

Posted by Member Bort on 12/18/12 12:08 AM #1

Ok. I have seen a number of posts on other threads regarding gems, and whether you can make a profit.

I have created my own gem calculator ages ago, and I have used it with great success.
I doubt it has anything you can't find anywhere else, but here it is anyways.

Excell Sheet (Google doc)

*This is my first attempt to share a spreadsheet. So let me know if it doesn't work.
Erm.. also, I'm not 100% sure how to ensure that other people can't edit it.
Posted by Member Bort on 12/18/12 12:12 AM #2

Some notes on how to use my sheet.
There are 5 tabs at the bottom.
"Loot Check"
"Ruby"
"Amethyst"
"Emerald"
"Topaz"

The 4 named gems are obvious. The loot check is one I used to calculate the absolute minimum cost to get to some of the larger gems assuming you have looted all the required Flawless Squares and Tomes. (More on this later)

Ok. So some manual work is required when using this sheet, since we are not allowed to automatically read data from the AH.

It's quite simple to use.

Go to the Ruby tab.
Get the cost of gems and tomes from the AH and fill them in here:
*NOTE. You only need to fill in the cost of the Scroll of JC, Tome of JC and Tome of Secrets on the Ruby page. They are automatically copied to the other gem pages.

No go to the other 3 gem tabs and fill in the current buyout price of each of the gems.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff43/Bort__/D3Achieves/GemCalcExample_inputs_zpsf5a17341.png

On the right it shows how many of each type gem is required to get to each of the gems you want to get at.
(At the moment the number of tomes required is not shown. I'm working on getting that info there too.)

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff43/Bort__/D3Achieves/GemCalcExample_numGems_zps9643828e.png

For example if you are trying to build Star gems go to row 17. (Star under the outcome table)
On the right hand side you will see that you require to make 1 Star
3456 Chipped gems